Let me introduce myself: Christine Evans. Artist and facilitator at Syrian House. I’m happy to be working here now till September 2011 running art sessions that link the residents to their lovely garden.

I’m really pleased with how the Friday morning art sessions are going. I started running them in December and there have been smiling faces each week. We’ve done collages that fit into CD cases responding to a general garden theme. And now that we have the garden plans to look at, we’re translating them into our own large scale piece of art. The first step, like in a real garden I guess, is to map out the different areas….the grass, the paths, the raised beds, the pond etc. We’re doing this using torn up bits of magazine…..collecting shades of greens, blues and browns. The next step will be make small flowers, vegetables…and fish for the pond….

Sitting round the table together generates a wonderful family feeling…

Photos of the development will be posted as the garden grows…